Tiera Lavin Controls The Imprint Of Her Life Through Faith, Family, And Business

Andre J. Ellington
3 min readMar 7, 2021

--

When did you get your start in the field of graphic and web design? I know you’re mom is a veteran in the field.

Well, I initially didn’t want to do graphic design because my mom did it, but I’ve always picked up on it because the tools were always there. I used to design people’s Crushspot pages, so I’ve always been familiar with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. When I became pregnant with my son in 2016, I invested in a refurbished Macbook and started taking my craft seriously. When I started my business, T Style Graphics, I did one free month of designs because you need a portfolio to show people to pay you. In March of 2020, I went full-time with my business, and I’ve been going up from there.

Talk about the first month after you left your job for full entrepreneurship? You’ve spoken about how God led you to entrepreneurship at the end of 2019.

I had to make a lot of adjustments because after I left my job, we went right into COVID-19. It took me a couple of months to get a steady workflow because I was more structured and prompt at work. It was easier to procrastinate at first, but I finally got things together after awhile. God is always in control and I base my life off of the moves he tells me to make.

What project solidified your path toward becoming a graphic designer?

The first time I sold a package for $1000 was when I knew this was a real thing. My friend Danielle Hughes has a scholarship fund that she started in honor of her grandfather. I was a sponsor for three of her students, and I did their personal branding, created a logo, and gave them a copy of my book. One of the student’s mothers was an awardee of the Motor City Match, and she became a retainer client of mine.

What can a client expect when they work with T Style Graphics?

Everything is included on my website in detail. I wanted to create an ease-of-access for all my potential and existing clients, which is why my business is set up the way it is. I don’t talk to most of my clients, but I do offer phone consultations for clients who need to explain things in detail.

As someone who went to college and earned a degree, what are your thoughts on creatives attending college to become certified in a specific area?

I honestly don’t think school is for a lot of people, especially creatives. I have an associate’s degree in Business Administration, which took me four years to receive. In 2018, I went to Specs Howard, and I also became a Notary.

How do you balance being a mom and running your multiple businesses (T Style Graphics, Vend Bros, Notary Business)?

Everything has fallen into place over time. I have many things going on, but I’m taking things one day at a time. With my kids, I’m extremely organized, so it’s no problem with keeping them on a set schedule around my businesses.

For more information regarding T Style Graphics, CLICK HERE.

To keep up with Tiera Lavin on social media, CLICK HERE.

--

--